Nominations for the Pieter Schenck Award (2017)

Dear Colleagues,

The Pieter Schenck Award is given every second year to a scientist normally under 35 years of age who has made a major contribution in any specific area of organic geochemistry or a related field. The previous awardees were Jaap S. Sinninghe Damsté in 1993, Mark A. McCaffrey in 1995, Katherine H. Freeman in 1997, Stefan Schouten in 1999, Kliti Grice in 2001, Richard Pancost in 2005, Marcel M. Kuypers in 2007, Helen Talbot in 2009, Alexei Milkov in 2011, Johan Weijers in 2013, and Jessica Tierney in 2015.

The 12th award will be attributed at the 28th EAOG International Meeting on Organic Geochemistry, Florence, Italy, September 2017.

Proposers should send details of their candidate(s) including CV, full list of publications, and a written justification (ca. 2000 words) to the Chairman of the Award Committee before April 30th, 2017. The selection will be made by the Pieter Schenck Committee composed of Heinz Wilkes (Chairman,, Katherine H. Freeman, Roger E. Summons, Joseph A. Curiale, and Richard P. Evershed. Nominations submitted (as pdf, MSWord, or text files) by email to the committee chair are encouraged.

More info at:

Comments are closed.