Pieter Schenck Award

Nominations for the Pieter Schenck Award

Deadline: 30 April 2023

Nominees shall have been awarded their PhD ≤ 7 years prior to January 1st of the year of nomination. Non-winners may be re-nominated two years later, and shall have been awarded their PhD ≤ 7 years prior to January 1st of the year of re-nomination.The 15th award will be attributed at the 30th EAOG International Meeting on Organic Geochemistry, Montpellier, France in September 2023.

Nominators must include the following documentation:

  • Candidate’s CV

  • Candidate’s Full list of publications

  • Nominator’s written justification (ca. 2000 words) to the Chairman of the Award Committee Letter of support from a second scientist in the field.

The selection will be made by the Pieter Schenck Committee composed of Joseph A. Curiale, Kate Freeman, Kliti Grice, Paul Farrimond, and Heinz Wilkes (Chairman). Nominations can be submitted (as pdf, MS Word, or text files) by email to the Awards Committee chairperson Heinz Wilkes

About Pieter Schenck and the Award:

The European Association of Organic Geochemists (EAOG) was formally established in 1983. The members of the first board were Prof. P. A. Schenck, Dr. R. G. Schaefer, Dr. G. W. M. Lijmbach, Dr. P. A. Albrecht, Dr. B. Durand, Dr. J. R. Maxwell and Prof. Dr. D. H. Welte. Soon after Prof. Schenck’s retirement and in recognition of his work as founding member and chairman of the Board of EAOG, the EAOG Board decided to install the “Pieter Schenck Award” to be presented during the International Meetings on Organic Geochemistry (IMOGs) to a talented early career organic geochemist. It was awarded for the first time in 1993 at the 16th IMOG in Stavanger, Norway.

Previous awardees include:

  • Jaap S. Sinninghe Damsté – 1993
  • Mark A. McCaffrey – 1995
  • Katherine H. Freeman – 1997
  • Stefan Schouten – 1999
  • Kliti Grice – 2001
  • Richard Pancost – 2005
  • Marcel M. Kuypers – 2007
  • Helen Talbot – 2009
  • Alexei Milkov – 2011
  • Johan Weijers – 2013
  • Jessica Tierney – 2015
  • Thorsten Bauersachs – 2017
  • David Naafs – 2019

  • Felix Ellings – 2021


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close